KSHSAA Releases 2022-2023 District Football Assignments


Following are the district football assignments for the 2022 and 2023 football seasons.  For additional information concerning scheduling, brackets, district chairpersons, etc., see pages 12-13, sections 4.A thru 4.G of the 2021 KSHSAA Football Manual.  Each district is to select a district chairperson and that person’s name should be forwarded to the KSHSAA as soon as the dis­trict chairperson has been selected.

Class 6A

East –    Gardner Edgerton, Kansas City-Wyandotte, Olathe-East, Olathe-North, Olathe-Northwest, Olathe-South, Olathe-West, Overland Park-Blue Valley, Overland Park-Blue Valley North, Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest, Overland Park-Blue Valley West, Shawnee Mission East, Shawnee Mission North, Shawnee Mission Northwest, Shawnee Mission South, Shawnee Mission West

West –   Derby, Dodge City, Garden City, Haysville-Campus, Junction City, Lawrence, Lawrence Free-State, Manhattan, Topeka,

               Topeka-Washburn Rural, Wichita-East, Wichita-Heights, Wichita-North, Wichita-Northwest, Wichita-South, Wichita-Southeast


Class 5A

East –    De Soto, Emporia, Kansas City-J.C. Harmon, Kansas City-Sumner Academy, Kansas City-Turner, Kansas City-Washington, Lan­sing, Leavenworth, Overland Park-Blue Valley Southwest, Pittsburg, Shawnee-Mill Valley, Spring Hill, Tecumseh-Shawnee Heights,

Topeka-Highland Park, Topeka-Seaman, Topeka-West

West –   Andover, Goddard, Goddard-Eisenhower, Great Bend, Hays, Hutchinson, Liberal, Maize, Maize-South, Newton, Salina-Central, Salina-South, Valley Center, Wichita-Bishop Carroll, Wichita-Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita-West


Class 4A

East –      Altamont-Labette County, Atchison, Basehor-Linwood, Bonner Springs, Chanute, Eudora, Fort Scott, Kansas City-F.L. Schlagle,

Kansas City-Piper, Lenexa-St. James Academy, Louisburg, Ottawa, Overland Park-St. Thomas Aquinas, Paola, Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege, Tonganoxie

West –     Abilene, Andover-Central, Arkansas City, Augusta, Buhler, Coffeyville-Field Kindley, El Dorado, Independence, McPherson, Mul­vane,

Rose Hill, Towanda-Circle, Ulysses, Wamego, Wellington, Winfield


Class 3A

District 1 – Baxter Springs, Columbus, Frontenac, Galena, Parsons

District 2 – Burlington, Garnett-Anderson County, Girard, Iola, LaCygne-Prairie View

District 3 – Baldwin, Kansas City-Bishop Ward, Osawatomie, Santa Fe Trail, Wellsville

District 4 – Holton, Hoyt-Royal Valley, Meriden-Jefferson West, Perry Lecompton, Topeka-Hayden

District 5 – Clay Center Community, Concordia, Hiawatha, Marysville, St. George-Rock Creek

District 6 – Chapman, Clearwater, Hesston, Wichita-Collegiate, Wichita-Trinity Academy

District 7 – Andale, Cheney, Lindsborg-Smoky Valley, Nickerson, Pratt

District 8 – Colby, Goodland, Holcomb, Hugoton, Scott Community

 Class 2A

District 1 – Caney Valley, Cherryvale, Fredonia, Neodesha, Riverton

District 2 – Council Grove, Eureka, Humboldt, Osage City, Pomona-West Franklin

District 3 – Atchison-Maur Hill Mt. Academy, Easton-Pleasant Ridge, Effingham-Atchison County, Rossville, Silver Lake

District 4 – Horton, Minneapolis, Riley County, Sabetha, Seneca-Nemaha Central

District 5 – Ellsworth, Gypsum-SE of Saline, Halstead, Hillsboro, Lyons

District 6 – Anthony-Harper/Chaparral, Douglass, Garden Plain, Haven, Kingman

District 7 – Cimarron, Hoisington, Kismet-Southwestern Heights, Lakin, Larned

District 8 – Beloit, Hays-Thomas More Prep Marian, Phillipsburg, Norton Community, Russell

Class 1A

District 1 – Arma-Northeast, Cherokee-Southeast, Erie, Pittsburg-St. Mary’s Colgan, Uniontown

District 2 – Allen-Northern Heights, Mound City-Jayhawk Linn, Olpe, Pleasanton, Richmond-Central Heights

District 3 – Eskridge-Mission Valley, McLouth, Oskaloosa, St. Mary’s, Valley Falls, Winchester-Jefferson County North

District 4 – Centralia, Jackson Heights, Onaga, Troy, Wathena-Riverside

District 5 – Belleville-Republic County, Blue Rapids-Valley Heights, Salina-Sacred Heart, Smith Center, Wabaunsee

District 6 – Belle Plaine, Leon-Bluestem, Marion, Sedgwick, Whitewater-Remington

District 7 – Conway Springs, Ellinwood, Hutchinson-Trinity Catholic, Inman, Medicine Lodge, Sterling,

District 8 – Ellis, Johnson-Stanton County, Oakley, Plainville, Syracuse

 Class 8-Player – Division I

District 1 – Cedar Vale/Dexter, Howard-West Elk, Oswego, Rosalia-Flint hills, Sedan, Yates Center

District 2 – Burlingame, Cottonwood Falls-Chase County, Lyndon, Madison/Hamilton, Shawnee-Maranatha Christian Academy,

Topeka-Cair Paravel Latin School

District 3 – Attica/Argonia, Burden-Central, Oxford, South Sumner (Caldwell/South Haven), Udall, Wichita-The Independent

District 4 – Goessel, Herington, Little River, Moundridge, Pretty Prairie, Solomon

District 5 – Bennington, Brookville-Ell Saline, Clifton Clyde, Lincoln, Mankato-Rock Hills, Washington County

District 6 – Atwood-Rawlins County, Hill City, Hoxie, Oberlin-Decatur Community, Quinter, Stockton

District 7 – Greensburg-Kiowa County, La Crosse, Macksville, Ness City, Pratt-Skyline, WaKeeney-Trego Community

District 8 – Elkhart, Leoti-Wichita County, Meade, Montezuma-South Gray, Spearville, Sublette

Class 8-Player – Division II

District 1 – Colony-Crest, Hartford, Lebo, Melvern-Marais Des Cygnes Valley, Moran-Marmaton Valley, St. Paul

District 2 – Canton Galva, Hutchinson-Central Christian, Langdon-Fairfield, Norwich, Rural Vista (Hope/White City)

District 3 – Axtell, Frankfort, Hanover, Highland-Doniphan West, Linn, Randolph-Blue Valley

District 4 – Beloit-St. John’s/Tipton, Downs-Lakeside, Osborne, Scandia-Pike Valley, Wakefield

District 5 – Claflin-Central Plains, Otis-Bison, Sylvan-Lucas Unified, Victoria, Wilson

District 6 – Grainfield-Wheatland/Grinnell, Kensington-Thunder Ridge, Logan/Palco, Sharon Springs-Wallace County, St. Francis

District 7 – Coldwater-South Central, Kinsley, Kiowa-South Barber, Stafford, St. John-Hudson

District 8 – Bucklin, Dighton, Jetmore-Hodgeman County, Minneola, Satanta

 6 Player

District 1 – Buffalo-Altoona Midway, Chetopa, LeRoy-Southern Coffey County, Lost Springs-Centre, Peabody-Burns, Waverly, Wetmore

District 2 – Burrton, Chase, Cunningham, Natoma, Rozel-Pawnee Heights, Southern Cloud (Miltonvale/Glasco), Tescott

District 3 – Ashland, Deerfield, Fowler, Ingalls, Moscow, Rolla

District 4 – Almena-Northern Valley, Bird City-Cheylin, Ransom-Western Plains/Healy, Rexford-Golden Plains, Tribune-Greeley County,


Author: Steve Sturgis

Steve graduated from Wellington High School in 1974 and then Wichita State University (with honors) in 1979 with a B.S. Degree in Administration of Justice; his minor was in Sociology. Steve has held several positions ranging from Juvenile Court Service Officer, to District Manager in Circulation at the Wichita Eagle, Q.A. Planner at Boeing, Caregiver, Psychiatric Technician, Limo Driver, Ranch Hand, Photographer, Webmaster and Website Developer and a die hard Crusader Fan since the early 1960's. Contact the ole boy at shs74@wellington.cc or on Facebook or at any Crusader event year-round.